Tshirt and cardigan quilt

This time last spring, I was possessed by a fierce ‘now or never’ determination to clear up my daughter’s overflowing cupboard. I was overwhelmed with the number of T-shirts, jeans, pyjamas and cardigans that she had years ago outgrown of but would not want to give away. (I mean give away for me to snip and recycle !)

Honestly, I did not know where to store these and what I was going to do with them. The point was, I had to clear them all away at the earliest. We were going to move house in a couple of months and surely I wanted to get rid off as much clutter as I could. Moving houses afford great opportunities I realised, both to recycle and discard a lot of unwanted stuff. I know, it can be a roller coaster of emotions when we have to make that ‘keep it or chuck it’ decision.

So, what do I do, with piles of her tshirts, cardigans pyjamas and jeans ? And in the shortest time? The project has to be a huge one, using up most of these ! The worst part of it all, was to wrestle with my daughter each time I was about to snip a t-shirt. She would go , ‘but it still fits me fine..’ grab it, and wear it on.  And we would go reminiscing its biography. Some of them she wore as a 5 year old !! It struck me only then what appalling hoarders we were when it came to clothes.

I did some googling for ideas. Quilts appealed to me, since it will use up a lot of fabric. Also a quilt made of her favourite clothes would make it even more special. So I started snipping the t shirts, cardigans and jeans. Salvaged the zippers, buttons and pockets. Next, I pinned, sewed and sewed and sewed 🙂

And the result ?  This.

Can you believe each of these squares are more than 8 years old ? I can't honestly ;))

Can you believe each of these squares are more than 8 years old ? I can’t honestly 😉

The teddy bear, flamingo and the pink faded one are 12 years old !! qualifies for vintage ?

The teddy bear, flamingo and the pink faded one are 12 years old !! qualifies for vintage ?

Now, the one below is made of cardigans, scarves and two old throws !

From cardigans, scarves and throw to this ......

From cardigans, scarves and throw to this ……

I must confess, this quilting exercise is something I will not embark on again for another 10 years !!

7 comments on “Tshirt and cardigan quilt

    • I am glad you liked them. Yes, those squares do have plenty of memories … probably that is what makes them warm and cosy 😉

      I would love to see this comment added to my recent Rag quilt post !

      Like

Your comment gratifies me !

