Crocheted plastic raffia tote

Crocheting with plastic raffia ? That’s right. Yes !!

Some of you may be familiar crocheting with plarn. For those of you who are not familiar with what plarn is, it is plastic yarn – yarn made from plastic carry bags we get from our shopping ! The bags are cut into strips that make the yarn. There was a time, I went shopping often just to collect some of these colourful bags !! I made a lot of things including a water bottle cozy for my daughter when she was in primary school ! We still have it somewhere…I will post a picture of it tomorrow.

But no, I am not talking of plarn here. Have a look at this bag and have a guess what it is made of !!

plastic raffia tote

plastic raffia tote

No guesses ? Given up ? Okay scroll down to see what it is made of 🙂

                                              .

                                              .

                                              .

                                              .

                                              .

                                              .

                                              .

                                             This !!

WP_20131126_006

Well, this is what the tote is made of ! It is extremely light but the tote does hold its shape although I have given it some faux leather lining inside with a zipper. There is a limited choice of colours available and I agree they are not amazing, but I liked the soft fabric that it created.

16 comments on “Crocheted plastic raffia tote

  1. Pingback: More of plastic raffia and plarn crochet …. | Things I want to create before wrinkles overwhelm me

  2. I’m wondering if you could make virtually waterproof hats with it, time for some experimenting in the Lab methinks! I made a bag from recycled Asda bags some years ago, I think it was knitted though, this look much better 🙂

    Like

  3. oooooooohhhh! What a lovely tote! How long did that take you to make? I would never have thought of using that stuff, looks great! Regarding plarn, yes I did try and failed miserably, haha! I also tried plastic fabric (whatever its called) where you fuse plastic bags to muslin, creating a weird kind of fabric that can be painted on or sewed. Very smelly I must say, but fun. But yes, that Raffia is now on my “To Try” list 😀

    Like

    • Absolutely give it a go ! It is great for small purses and kids’ goody bags. I have made some. It got a bit late tonight, but will post the pics tomorrow. You cant tell from the fabric it is made of plastic raffia…and it is dead cheap …you get like 4 or 5 bundles for a pound !!
      hmmm let me think …I made this a few years ago..not more than a couple of weeks I guess 😉
      I tried the bag fusing but failed. But plarn is easy but too time consuming to cut the strips and make the yarn balls. I have outgrown the plarn phase 🙂 I am now looking to crochet with bigger and bigger ropes and hooks heee heee 🙂

      Like

    • It is what they use in packaging, to tie up things. I liked it because it is very light and the fabric is very soft almost like cloth. I like experimenting with different materials …So far I have crocheted with plarn, fabric rags, twine, jute, plastic utility rope, paper raffia, plastic raffia, and ofcourse different types of woollen yarn !

      But I am still looking for the perfect crochet material ;))

      Like

Your comment gratifies me !

